Coming Home

Home. Sometimes it’s not only a place, but a feeling. Coming home means peace, finding rest, and comfort. Coming home from college, years of crazy roommates, tiny beds, walls that are boring, that you try to make your own for the time being…

My house, always the comfortable place, the place I could breathe, and relax, be myself. Not that I couldn’t in the other places, it was just familiar. I think we all know that feeling. I long to give my children that feeling someday. To be the place they love to come home to.

Another place I’ve reminded myself feels just like home lately is the feet of Jesus. I’ve spent a good majority of the last seven months on a spiritual retreat, of sorts. Just talking to God, finding, and trying, to follow His will for my life. This has let to some very uncomfortable days, weeks, and months. Some tough conversations with people I love, and distance with others. I’m still not one hundred percent sure where I am going, I only have a sliver of the destination.

But, over these last seven months, I’ve learned so much about myself. Though, church and the Lord have always been a big part of my life, I have reminded myself that He is the Good, Good Father. And, that through him all things are possible. I have learned that as much as I love feeling that earthly feeling of “home.” That my true home awaits me in heaven. This is NOT my home. (Though, enjoying what he gave us here on earth is wonderful too, we need to realize this is all temporary).

I challenge you today, that if you need that place of rest, and comfort. Solitude. Find Jesus, and sit at His feet. Talk to Him, get to know His plan for your life. You will not be disappointed. He will never let you down, he will give you such Joy! Seek his kingdom, and the ways of this culture will fade away. Find your way home. You’ll be SO glad you did!

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

-Matthew 11:28-

XOXO,

Alie

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

